the slow stitcher

Archive for May 4th, 2009

Progress on a couple of fronts.

I finished the third square on Summer Snapperland last week. I’m getting so close to finishing this! Just one more square and the border and I’m done! I can smell the finish line from here. Here’s what my Snapperland looks like now, pardon the rumples.

I wish there were more crabs in this design.

I wish there were more crabs in this design.

 On Friday (well actually, Saturday), I worked on Still Waters for my SAL with Melissa. I like how it’s coming along and am hoping I’ll get to finish the central motif as well as the sheep and lion this week. I’m not too sure I like the llama’s face, though.

Still trying to get the fabric colour right in photos.

Still trying to get the fabric colour right in photos.

I decided to stop being a slob and tidy up the mess that is my crafting space. I’m fast running out of room to keep everything, so it was about time I sorted stuff out. In the process, I discovered Reflets de Soie’s Brassee des Fleurs, which I had kitted out with floss a couple of years ago but never got around to starting. Since I do love the design and want to get it done, I dug through my stash box and realised that the flax linen which I had originally set aside for it had been used for something else. So I tossed the floss with natural linen and took a picture to get some opinions.

What do you think? Should I go with natural or flax linen?

What do you think? Should I go with natural or flax linen?

The flax would show off the colours beautifully, but that would mean having to buy a half of it for this design. The natural is the perfect size but I’m concerned it’s a bit too dark. Opinions, please!

Written by Jean

May 4, 2009 at 9:53 am