the slow stitcher

Sampler acquisitions.

I used to spend a lot of time browsing sampler websites like The Essamplaire and The Scarlet Letter but always thought that while the samplers they sold were stunning, I’d never be able to complete them if I started. Seeing this finish of the Ruth Bacheler 1717 sampler, which every other stitcher on the blogosphere seems to be stitching currently, pushed me from “browse” to “buy”.  Apart from “Ruthie” as this sampler is now affectionately known, here are pictures of two other reproduction samplers, whose charts I have purchased very recently:

Elizabeth Simon reproduction sampler

Elizabeth Simon reproduction sampler from The Scarlet Letter. The verse is Psalm 23. I just love the pastel colours of this one.

Charlotte Clayton reproduction sampler

Charlotte Clayton reproduction sampler, charted by the Northwest Sampler Guild.

Aren’t they both very special? Can’t wait for the charts to arrive so that I can pore over them!
In other news, I am very close to finishing Simply Live. Like Karen, I’ve decided to omit the alphabet and numbers since I’m planning on finishing it as a flatfold and so don’t want it to be too big. I have the day off work tomorrow, so I’m going to be up late tonight stitching and hopefully catching up on The Tudors.
Written by Jean

April 8, 2009 at 11:51 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Somehow I can’t see the pics. Is it only me? Yeap, The Scarlet Letter is such an intense place for old Samplers. I fancy Ann Grimshaw one day :) Ruthie is going to be a beauty for sure.

    Barbara J

    April 8, 2009 at 12:11 pm

  2. Those are both lovely!! I have never stitched a sampler before either but hope that one day I will have time to start one and see how it goes!

    Cindy

    April 8, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  3. Both your new sampler purchases look gorgeous. And I’m sure you will enjoy stitching them. I often visit the websites that are dedicated to samplers and I have a wish list that will soon be longer than my list of stash that I own, lol.

    Brigitte

    April 8, 2009 at 1:22 pm


Comments are closed.

