the slow stitcher

A bourse!

This is what I made out of my Comme Thé  finish – my first bourse! I made it for a friend whom I know from online, who is in Singapore for a visit. She’s a tea lover and so I thought I would make her a little stitched gift with a tea theme, since she’s a stitcher herself.

I used the tutorial at Focus on Finishing and am quite pleased at how it turned out, except for two things. One, I should have given a bigger allowance all round so that the bourse would be deeper; two, I should have used interfacing on my fabric so that it would stand up more. I’ll keep these two things in mind when I make my next one. Now, on to the pictures!

I simply love the little teapot charms. Initially, there were only two since they were all I’d bought, but I liked them so much I went back to the shop and hunted through the racks of charms for them and found the last packet!

PS: If you’re in Singapore and love charms, do check out Lai Guan Beads Mart. They sell all sorts of charms at a “buy one get one free” offer, and plenty of other beading items too!

Lai Guan Beads Mart
101 Upper Cross St #01-43 People’s Park Centre
Tel: 6536 7838

Written by Jean

April 1, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fabulous! Love the coordinating fabric too :)

    Barbara J

    April 1, 2009 at 4:40 pm

  2. That is beautiful! Wonderful fabric, too.

    Siobhan

    April 1, 2009 at 7:40 pm

  3. Wow, your first bourse turned out fantastic. Great finishing.
    I wish I had such a shop with lots of charms nearby. But I always have a probelm to get charms no matter what I need. Lucky you!

    Brigitte

    April 1, 2009 at 8:31 pm

  4. Wow, that is just fantastic! You done a wonderful job on this!! Gorgeous colors and all!!

    Cindy

    April 2, 2009 at 12:22 am

  5. Fabulous finishing!

    Sharon

    April 6, 2009 at 2:14 pm


Comments are closed.

