the slow stitcher

Reve Hindou start.

 

Reve Hindou start

Stitched with Victorian Motto "Purple A" on 32ct antique white Belfast linen.

I pulled out Isa Vautier’s Reve Hindou to start over this weekend. I’m stitching it for an old friend as a gift – actually I’ve had the chart in my stash for oh, about three years, always planning to start on it but never actually getting round to doing so till now. I’m pretty certain my friend doesn’t read this blog so I’ll post pictures of my progress on this. I chose purple because it’s one of her favourite colours. When finished, it will look like this:

Reve Hindou by Isa Vautier

Reve Hindou by Isa Vautier. The model is stitched with DMC 3865 on red Aida.

My friend is expecting a baby, and I toyed with the idea of making this a birth sampler by personalising it with the baby’s name, but that’s pretty hard to do since she and her husband have yet to agree on a name even though the baby is due pretty soon! She came over to my place for dinner a few weeks ago and we had a fun time mulling over Indian girls’ names. Since it doesn’t look like there’ll be a decision in the near future I thought I’d spare myself the agony of waiting for the birth announcement and stitch the design as charted. It’s a lovely one, isn’t it?

Written by Jean

March 23, 2009 at 2:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking good so far :) I find with Victorian Motto’s threads, their smooth but if you needed to unpick, the thread it becomes brittle and break. So stitch carefully :)

    Barbara J

    March 23, 2009 at 9:50 am

  2. You had a great start on this project. Very interesting to see the pattern stitched with a dark colour on a white fabric.

    Brigitte

    March 24, 2009 at 12:24 am

  3. Pretty start!

    Sharon

    March 24, 2009 at 7:41 am

  4. Very pretty! If you do decide to do it as a birth record, and you have enough space on the fabric, you can always add in the information at the bottom or along the sides. I found a piece I wanted to do for a friend’s little girl, but couldn’t work the info into the design itself, so I created a border around the whole piece with the name, birthdate, etc.

    Jennifer

    March 24, 2009 at 8:55 pm

  5. That is a lovely design! You’ve made a good start on it and I think you’ve picked a wonderful color for it.

    stitcherydoo

    March 24, 2009 at 10:56 pm

  6. That is a lovely design!! I will enjoy watching the progress on this piece. I think the purple that you picked is just perfect!!

    Cindy

    March 25, 2009 at 3:14 am

  7. Serendipity! I found your blog by chance… and enjoyed looking at your creations.

    I really like this oh-so-wonderful design and I like the purple-on-white colour scheme you have chosen. You have given it a lovely French touch to Rêve Hindou. C’est très jolie!

    BTW, how do I lay my hands on this design? I particularly like the paisley (boteh)!

    Christopher

    December 22, 2009 at 4:39 am


Comments are closed.

