the slow stitcher

UFO turned WIP, and an exchange.

I dug out my Quaker Friendship Sampler and stitched two motifs – one large, one small – this past week. I love this design, but it somehow got relegated to the ranks of UFO-dom for the last two years. This is where I left off, and this is my progress. I’ve posted the before picture for easy viewing.

Before.

Before, taken May 2007.

After

After. Stitched on Lakeside Linens 36ct Basketweave with DMC 115. The colour of the Basketweave is more accurate here. It's a wonderful fabric, so warm and rich!

I complained before about the poor quality of the chart, which is hand- and not computer-drawn. Well, there are also errors in it. The motif right next to that flower one you see, for example, has half of the triangles missing from its lower part. I’ve had to go back and forth between the chart and the colour photo on the cover just to make sure that what I’m stitching is what’s on the model. You have been warned! Having said that, I will be making an effort to stitch on this more regularly. The chart has space for five initials plus initials in the centre motif, but I will be putting our family name initial in the centre and the year of our marriage, and then the initials of me, DH and the girls in the spaces given around the chart. We are short of one, so I am planning to fill in that space with a heart, which I’ll have to dig up from somewhere. I thought of including the initials of our dogs, but then I’d need to find space for one extra initial, so I’m going to take the path of less resistance.

Margaret W. dropped a note on the NNC group to say that my package to her for the pincushion exchange arrived safely. This exchange called for a floral-themed pincushion plus three floral stash items. Here’s what I sent.

Carre Fleuri freebie from Tournicoton, stitched on 32ct flax Belfast with my choice of DMC colours.

Carré Fleuri freebie from Tournicoton. Stitched on 32ct natural Belfast with my choice of DMC colours.

Im happy that I could use our timber deck to take these photos. DH has been storing all his vintage BMX bikes on the deck, but he moved them for an exhibition so I managed to use the space while the bikes were gone!

I'm happy that I could use our timber deck to take these photos. DH has been storing his vintage BMX bikes on the deck (he's a collector), but he moved them for an exhibition so I managed to use the space while the bikes were gone!

Pincushion plus stash.

Pincushion plus stash.

Thanks for being a part of my stitching and life through this blog, dear friends. I appreciate all of your visits and kind comments on my entries. :)

Edited to add: You can find the freebie here. Lots of other lovely free designs there too!

Written by Jean

March 14, 2009 at 10:55 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have the Quaker Friendship Sampler you’re stitching. Didn’t know about the errors, so thanks for the heads-up. I couldn’t decide if I wanted to stitch it multicolored or monochrome. Seeing your red version just helped me decide on monochrome, so thanks!

    Do you have a link for the Tournicoton freebie? It’s lovely!

    Linen Stitcher

    March 14, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    • Here’s the chart. She has many other lovely freebies on her website too.

      Jean

      March 15, 2009 at 1:53 am

  2. Great progress on the sampler! That looks to be a lovely design! Love the goodies that you sent out. That is such a cute cushion! Great job!

    Cindy

    March 15, 2009 at 12:03 am

  3. Great progress on your Quaker piece. Isn’t it a pain when the chart has errors and you always have to verify your stitches on the photo.
    Your pincushion for the exchnage is such a beauty. I printed this freebie out some time ago. Maybe it’s time to stitch it now in the Spring.

    Brigitte

    March 16, 2009 at 8:05 pm


Comments are closed.

