the slow stitcher

My Everything.

I finished My Everything just a few minutes ago and had to surreptitiously take a picture so that I could put it away before the hub-unit noticed it. It’s true, though, the adage that you usually don’t notice something that’s right under your nose. I”d been stitching this diligently for the last couple of days while he was at home, and he could have easily leaned over my shoulder and seen what I was stitching, and then ask about it. But he didn’t. I figure he won’t be reading this blog so I can post about it – if he does read it, then it’s fated that he know about it before I present it to him!

Pardon the poorly-taken photo. It's almost midnight, and dark, and I had to rush!

Literary Littles: My Everything by The Sampler Girl. Stitched on 32ct antique white linen with DMC 4240.

Pardon the poorly-taken photo. Antique white linen definitely doesn’t look like that! It’s almost midnight, and dark, and I had to rush because DH was reading just a few feet away while I was snapping and our camera shutter makes a loud noise.

This truly was a fun stitch. This verse by WH Auden is one of my favourites; so meaningful. However, I believe there is a tiny error in the chart – the D in the “and” before “west” is missing its top tail. I realised this after I had long passed that area so I decided to leave it as it is. Bet you didn’t notice it until I pointed it out!

I agonised for a long time over what font to use for our initials and the year. After surfing around and getting a little stressed over it, it occurred to me that I should simply stitch them using the design’s font, but over-one. I found the little heart design online, and used numbers from a Brenda Keyes sampler book for the year. I think it turned out well.

I will have to find time to take this to the framer in the next week or so. In the meantime, it’s on to exchange stitching and perhaps, another new start.

Written by Jean

March 7, 2009 at 11:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the saying, great work! Rectnly you left a comment on my blog, about a UB Design. If you like me to help out with your order, please contact me
    jokegaoxing@gmail.com

    Joke

    March 8, 2009 at 2:42 am

  2. Beautiful job on this design. I finished this one recently too, and it’s a favorite!

    Dianne

    March 8, 2009 at 6:07 am

  3. It’s a lovely piece Jean… so meaningful!

    Lody

    March 8, 2009 at 6:45 am

  4. It’s such a lovely piece. Congratulations on finishing it.

    Brigitte

    March 10, 2009 at 2:41 am

  5. I love it. It’s one of my favourites too

    knitnut

    March 11, 2009 at 5:57 pm

  6. Lovely! I’ve never seen it worked in anything but a red or pink and yours is beautiful.

    By the way, I rarely make all letters the same on my charts so it was a purposeful difference. lOL

    Tanya

    Tanya

    March 22, 2009 at 10:00 am

    • I did wonder whether it was deliberate, but it seemed to be the only “d” that was different so I assumed it was an error. :) Thanks for dropping by! And can I say, I love your designs!

      Jean

      March 22, 2009 at 5:22 pm


Comments are closed.

