the slow stitcher

Bike Ride is almost done.

 

Bike Ride, nearly done.

Bike Ride, nearly done. Pardon the rumples.

I’m really having so much fun stitching this! I should be done with the second square, Bike Ride, tomorrow. In the meantime, that little guy will have to suffer a sunburn on his head for lack of hair, and ride his bicycle without handlebars. And I’m saving the crab for last! ;)

Oh, can I also say that it is freaky to stitch a human face with absolutely no features whatsoever. Bent Creek really should look into that…

Written by Jean

March 3, 2009 at 12:11 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is looking great! I love the colours and the little crab :)

    KarenV

    March 3, 2009 at 1:41 am

  2. Excellent progress…and I’m loving watching this one progress :)

    Dianne

    March 3, 2009 at 1:54 am

  3. LOL. I haven’t yet stitched a person, but I can imagine. This pc is really coming along nicely. The title of your page really caught my eye :).
    I am new to the world of stitching and have been browsing various blogs to try and gain some knowledge and get some tips / ideas. I originally started with a stamped, then counted “kits”. I’m working on my 2nd chart and have noticed some big differences in floss types and quality.
    My Cross Stitch Mentor has told me that I’m ready to graduate from Aida, but I really like Aida. Maybe it’s just beginner’s comfort???
    If you would answer my question… What type of fabric or fabrics do you prefer and why? Brands and counts?
    I would appreciate any advice, thanks!

    Craft-i-leigh

    March 3, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    • Hi! :) Thanks for popping by. To answer your question, it really isn’t all that difficult to switch from Aida to evenweave or linen. I took the advice of an experienced stitcher and tried a 28 count evenweave first – it doesn’t have slubs like linen and is pretty easy to work with once you get the hang of stitching over 2 threads. Jobelan and lugana are good choices to start with. After I was comfortable working with evenweave, I tried my hand at linen, and soon stopped using Aida altogether.

      I prefer Zweigart fabrics to Wichelt. My favourite count is 32 count, but I can sometimes be persuaded to go up to 36 count and beyond. I’ve gotten rather addicted to hand dyed fabrics of late, so I have a lot of Countrystitch and Lakeside Linens in my stash.

      Hope this helps!

      Jean

      March 3, 2009 at 10:41 pm

  4. That is looking fantastic!! I do agree, it is weird not having any facial features at all!!!!

    Cindy

    March 4, 2009 at 12:12 am

  5. This looks so great. And what a nice little crab.

    Brigitte

    March 5, 2009 at 12:31 am


Comments are closed.

