the slow stitcher

Nashville 2009 favourites.

Like many stitchers, I’ve been keeping up with the new designs being released at Nashville at ABC Stitch and am quite excited over a couple of releases, namely:

Quaker Gone Tropic by Michelle Ink Needlework Designs – This design is really, really cute! Love how the tropical motifs blend so well with the Quaker ones. It doesn’t quite scream “buy me NOW!” but it’s cute enough to go on my maybe list.

Earth Sampler by The Primitive Needle – I just love this one. In fact, I have it on order from Drema at Needlecraft Corner, along with Yule Sampler.

Quaker Seasons of Friendship by Crown & Thistle – This is ginormous and gorgeous at 440×250 stitches. I would order it now except that I don’t know when I’d ever get around to stitching it! I’ve also just realised, after a closer look at the design, that I don’t quite like the way the design has been split down the middle to demarcate the changing of the seasons. I would actually prefer it if those two plants in the top half were Frankensteined together instead of split in two with an awkward space down the middle (which does not extend to the half medallion directly below the two pots). This one bears some thinking about. But it’s still beautiful.

Other than that, there are Blue Ribbon Designs’ It’s Cold Outside and Lizzie*Kate’s ABC Lessons, both of which are already winging their way across the oceans to me as I type. I’m really looking forward to making a start on these two designs later this year!

Written by Jean

February 16, 2009 at 6:23 pm

Posted in Crafting

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oooh … you’re on the roll! Great picks from Nashville. I lean almost always towards Blackbird Designs though ;)

    How far are you with Beatrix Potter? I’m with Hazel’s BP blog. Started on the first few minutes of 2009!

    Barbara J

    February 16, 2009 at 9:03 pm

  2. BJ, I haven’t restarted yet – I had actually stitched about 3-4 motifs 1×1 on 28 count, but decided I didn’t like the look of it, so I will be restarting using Carrie’s Concord on 36 count 1×2. I’ve been keeping up with your BP progress on your Flickr!

    Jean

    February 16, 2009 at 10:28 pm

  3. Concord is a deep lovely colour and may I ask will you be going with Carrie’s silk? :)

    I am working on BP as of last night and hopefully right up to the end of the month.

    Barbara J

    February 17, 2009 at 8:49 am

    • I ordered the Concord quite some time ago, and her silks were not yet ready. I’ve ordered a couple of skeins of her silk to try, though. :)

      Jean

      February 17, 2009 at 9:24 am

  4. Those are all great designs!!

    Cindy

    February 19, 2009 at 6:06 am

  5. I had the same issue with Seasons of Friendship. That split in there just looks strange to me.

    Jennifer

    February 19, 2009 at 10:36 pm


Comments are closed.

