the slow stitcher

Quaker mail art for Joanne N.

I participated in the MailArtFriends Yahoo! group’s Quaker mail art exchange. Here’s the envelope I stitched for Joanne. I used motifs from Hannah Hicks’s 1790 sampler with DMC 115 on an ivory linen (think it’s 32 count). There were a few hair-tearing moments when I thought I had misjudged the dimensions of the envelope but I think it turned out nicely, don’t you?

This is my second-ever mail art and the first I’ve sent as-is through the mail. I was too scared to send the first one as-is, so I popped it into an envelope, which makes it a little less fun. Now that this one reached Joanne safely, I’m encouraged to keep sending them as-is!

Mail art to Joanne N.

Back of mail art to Joanne N.

Here’s a photo of the mail art with stamp and airmail picture affixed, just before I dropped it in the mailbox at the PO:

Quaker mail art for Joanne with stamps

Written by Jean

November 6, 2008 at 3:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a lovely mailart!!

    Mylene

    November 6, 2008 at 6:48 pm

  2. I love the mailart. I always admire these.
    I come over from the wXSw group.
    I enjoyed browsing.

    Ranae

    November 8, 2008 at 1:17 am

  3. Oh it’s beautiful! Isn’t making and sending mailart great :) I always send my envelopes as is, I think it’s part of the fun :)

    Leena

    November 8, 2008 at 7:02 pm

  4. Beautiful mailart! I love Quakers and you did a fabulous job. :)

    Carolyn

    November 12, 2008 at 11:19 am


Comments are closed.

