the slow stitcher

Lazy Days skirts

These elastic-waist skirts were made using the Lazy Days skirt tutorial. The ribbons were quite frankly a bitch to sew on. I actually had to junk an almost-finished skirt that was meant for Alison because I screwed up the ribbon hem, and start over. I’m not sure if it’s the curve of the skirt or if I’m holding the ribbon and fabric down too tightly as I sew, which causes stretching. Anyway, these aren’t perfect but the girls don’t know and don’t care about the difference between them and store-bought skirts. Alison will be wearing hers after ballet so she just needs to slip off her translucent dance skirt and put on this one to be decent for going out instead of having to change her entire outfit.

Lazy days skirts for Ally and Zoe

Written by Jean

October 25, 2008 at 1:45 pm

Posted in Crafting

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great skirts Jean! They look real swell. Glad to see you’re enjoying your new machine :)

    Barbara J

    October 25, 2008 at 5:17 pm

  2. The skirt looks great! In my experience, it’s very challenging to add any sort of trim or even a hem to a skirt after it’s been gathered at the waist like that. Despite the fact that every pattern I’ve ever seen says to finish the hem as the last step, I have taken to doing it BEFORE I put elastic into a waist band. Much, much easier! As long as you’re confident that you don’t need to shorten the length at all, it won’t hurt or change anything to hem it first.

    goffcouture

    October 25, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  3. These two little skirts are so sweet and adorable. Love the way you combined the fabrics and the trim, so matching.

    Cindy

    October 28, 2008 at 11:10 am


Comments are closed.

