the slow stitcher

Tissue holder.

Tissue holder

K and I like the tissue holders from Mphosis but we keep losing them. Making them is a lot cheaper than shelling out $3 each time we need a new one.

I used Bella Dia’s tutorial with this modification so that the opening would not gape but lie flat. If you would like to add embellishments, try this tutorial instead. I didn’t try this because I don’t have double-sided interfacing in my stash.

Oh yes, if you’re in Singapore and making one for yourself, use 5.5″ x 6.5″ instead of the dimensions given in the tutorials, if you want it to fit the local-sized Beautex travel tissue pack. I made two holders before finding the right measurements.

On a less happy note, using my machine next to the computer is not good for my back. The table is too high and I have to step on the presser foot with my toes instead of the ball of my foot. Time to relook our study ergonomics!

Written by Jean

October 22, 2008 at 12:53 am

Posted in Crafting

