the slow stitcher

First sewing finish: doll sling.

Zoe is increasingly copying everything her sister does. Over the weekend, she tried to stuff her doll into her shirt to mimic Alison slinging her doll. I made her a makeshift sling with a beach sarong and sniffed around online for a doll sling pattern. This one looked simple enough for a novice like me, so I trotted off to Spotlight after work and got all the materials together.

It certainly took me longer than the 15 minutes stated in the pattern, but here’s the finished product modelled by my mannequin because Zoe is already asleep. I used the 45″ length and I think it’s just right for a toddler, but too small for any kid older than 4 years.

Doll sling for Zoe

The rings are a little too small for the amount of fabric passing through them, but I was unable to get bigger rings that were just right. Will have to keep hunting for them.

I’m very pleased with how it turned out, and even more chuffed that I actually finished something with my new sewing machine! I’ll try to take a picture of Zoe modelling the sling tomorrow.

Written by Jean

October 21, 2008 at 12:38 am

Posted in Crafting

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow…Zoe will be very happy with this. Nice job!

    Cindy

    October 21, 2008 at 11:08 am


Comments are closed.

