the slow stitcher

Sew happy!

After wanting one for years and years, I finally bought myself a sewing machine! I had originally wanted to get a Brother 2600 machine because Spotlight had a sale on that model, but when I got to the sewing machine section, I saw the Janome Jem 639 and it was love at first sight. Called DH and my friend June to ask which would be a better buy (the Jem is a very basic machine while the Brother had 57 stitches and all sorts of other bells and whistles), but of course they said it was up to me. So I decided that I didn’t want to be intimidated by so many doodads on my first machine, and bought the Jem.

Janome Jem 639 sewing machine

I hooked it up tonight and played with it for a while. The last time I’d laid hands on a sewing machine was in home economics class when I was 13, so it’s been a long time. Back then, my homec teacher had scared the entire class by telling us that she had sewed her finger by accident once and had a big scar to show for it. I was always afraid to use the sewing machine after that, but tonight I managed to make a little pillowcase out of some scrap without injuring myself so I think it’s time to lay that particular phobia to rest and try some new finishing methods for my cross-stitch!

Written by Jean

October 16, 2008 at 11:04 pm

Posted in Crafting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s been some wait! Now zip away … :)

    Barbara J

    October 16, 2008 at 11:45 pm

  2. Cool machine. Mine was Janome too and I love her so much.

    Happy sewing and hope to see some of your finished projects soon.

    Cindy

    October 17, 2008 at 9:50 am

  3. Incidentally that was also the first and last time I ever handled a sewing machine. I even made two blouses. Now, nearly twenty odd years later, I am yearning for a Bernina machine to help me with all my quilting projects. Saving my fingers for tatting and SRE.

    Zarina

    November 1, 2008 at 11:57 pm

  4. I have the Janome 6500 and so far its wonderful to use. But then I have not started on the Free Motion Quilting, FMQ – the reason that I have bought this machine.

    Zarina

    January 4, 2009 at 4:39 pm


Comments are closed.

