the slow stitcher

SBEBB redwork for Nicki.

Nicki emailed to say that she received my exchange for her safely and that she liked all that I had sent. I stitched and finished a pinkeep using a design from My Aunt’s Attic in Carrie’s Olde World Red.

SBEBB redwork exchange for Nicki L.

One of my bugbears about crafting in Singapore is the lack of nicely-coloured pins. I’m always having to buy a few multi-coloured pinwheels to get the colours I want…and it’s hard to find pinwheels with jewel tones too. Do craft stores in the US sell packs of pins in a single colour? I wonder why they don’t do that here, at least. For Nicki’s pinkeep, I had to scrounge through my stash to find enough red pins and wound up having to use red and gold pins alternately. Which turned out OK, because the backing fabric had some pale yellow in it to match but it was still a pain having to go through all my pins. (And I just realised I forgot to take a picture of the back of the pinkeep to show the fabric.)

SBEBB redwork exchange for Nicki L.

Anyway, here’s what I sent with the pinkeep – Needlemania’s Jardin d’Jour, two skeins of Crescent Colours and a DMC floss reminder card. This was a fun exchange!

Written by Jean

October 4, 2007 at 8:01 am

Posted in Crafting

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love it! Thank you again so much! :)

    Nicki

    October 4, 2007 at 2:47 pm

  2. Love the design and wonderfully finished!

    Barbara J

    October 4, 2007 at 4:37 pm

  3. Just gorgeous!!

    I know what you mean about the pins – we have the same issues in Australia some of the ladies on the old Friend Gather board suggested painting them yourself – which is something I might just try one day.

    cathymk

    October 4, 2007 at 8:10 pm

  4. It’s gorgeous!

    Dawn

    October 4, 2007 at 9:17 pm

  5. Thats lovely. I have the same problem finding pins too in the UK. I think maybe I’ll try online. xx

    Hazel

    October 4, 2007 at 9:19 pm

  6. Your pinkeep is absolutely gorgeous! I think the gold pins look fantastic mixed in with the red, the add some more richness to the pinkeep.

    wyora

    October 4, 2007 at 9:31 pm

  7. Wonderful exchange! I just recently printed this design, it’s lovely. I quit trying to find the right color pins, I just paint my own with either craft paint or nail polish. It works great!

    Chelle

    October 4, 2007 at 11:09 pm

  8. It’s gorgeous! I love the design and the color. I think a lot of people have a hard time finding the right color pins. An alternative is to buy beads (even Swarovski crystals) and thread a plain straight pin through. I’m definitely going to be doing that in the future! (Saw the idea in the new JCS Ornament issue).

    Michelle

    October 5, 2007 at 4:10 am

  9. What a beautiful pinkeep Jean!! Well done!

    Carol

    October 5, 2007 at 7:41 am

  10. It’s gorgeous! Love the red you chose :-).

    Katrina

    October 5, 2007 at 7:09 pm

  11. Oh, how beautiful! Yup, some craft stores over here do sell some by color. If there’s any one in particular you need, let me know :)

    Lauren

    October 5, 2007 at 10:13 pm

  12. Beautiful exchange gifts! I just buy plain white/pearl pins and you can paint them with nail varnish

    Cheryl

    October 5, 2007 at 11:25 pm

  13. Beautiful bird! You can alwys just paint the pins to match :)

    Monique

    October 11, 2007 at 12:50 am

  14. This is a truly beautiful pinkeep. Love the design :o)

    Annemarie

    October 11, 2007 at 10:39 pm

  15. You did a lovely job… have you thought of perhaps painting the pin heads with nail polish? I’ve read somewhere that someone tried that and it worked.

    Dani

    October 14, 2007 at 11:28 pm


Comments are closed.

