the slow stitcher

A little progress.

I am almost finished with the stitching for my bourse project. I love Alyce Schroth silk! It just glides through the fabric and I don’t need to trouble myself with deciding whether to use one strand or two – just snip off the required length and start stitching. I’ve decided that I’ll be using her silks for two future projects – Village By the Sea and the Permin Adam and Eve sampler. I just have to decide on the colour I want for Village By the Sea and I’m good to order. I can’t use AS silks for VBTS because the design calls for stitching with one strand in some parts. Oh well. Now to look at other options.

I’ve fallen in love with Mary Beale’s Days of Advent Sampler after seeing someone’s gorgeous finish on TheSamplerLife. But it’s $75 for the PDF chart, which I think is rather steep even if it is a huge-ass project. Maybe I’ll ask my family to chip in and buy it for me for Christmas!

Written by Jean

July 31, 2007 at 11:05 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That Mary Beale is doing the same thing to me. I showed it to my hubby and he loved it too and more amazingly, when I told him the cost he didn’t faint or tell me not to get it. I’m still considering it (I’m trying to be good this month). I think its because I have him trained on Chatelaine designs. The charts themselves are not too expensive but kitting them up costs an arm and a leg!

    Your WIP is just lovely too!

    cathymk

    July 31, 2007 at 6:39 pm

  2. Gorgoeus WIP

    Cheryl

    July 31, 2007 at 7:13 pm

  3. The bourse is coming along fine, if only it was little faster :p

    That Advent Sampler is one SERIOUS sampler. It is so major that I won’t even harbour intentions of stitching it!!! But don’t let me stop you…go for it Jean!! :D

    Barbara J

    July 31, 2007 at 9:07 pm

  4. Ooo, that is pretty! YOu are right, that Advent Sampler is beautiful – so pricey!! But it does look huge!

    Carol

    July 31, 2007 at 10:43 pm

  5. The bourse is lovely – and it sounds like the silks are, too! And oooooh, I haven’t seen that advent sampler before. Oooh, I promised to not buy stash this month, I promised to not buy stash this month, I promised…. :)

    lalawe

    August 1, 2007 at 3:39 am


Comments are closed.

