the slow stitcher

What is the world coming to.

I received a phone call today from someone wanting a stitcher to stitch a bookmark for her daughter’s school project because “the holes are too small and my daughter can’t see”. I told her that I don’t offer stitching services and suggested that she try Spotlight for fabric in a lower count so that the holes would be bigger and therefore more visible, but she demurred saying that the fabric had come with the kit. The only acceptable solution she was interested in was for someone to stitch the bookmark for her daughter.

I repeated that unfortunately, I don’t offer such services and that I didn’t know anyone else who would. And then, since I had already spent at least five minutes explaining solutions to her, I said, “To be completely honest, ma’am, your daughter should do her own homework.”

She hung up.

Honestly, I can’t believe some people. It’s a bookmark for crying out loud, not a band sampler filled with specialty stitches! Knowing that the standard fabric for kits here is 14 count Aida, I find it hard to believe anyone would be unable to see to stitch on it unless of course they are visually impaired, in which case the girl’s teacher has no business asking her to do cross stitch. I shudder to think what other “difficult” school situations the girl’s mother gets her out of by making phone calls.

Anyway, now that my rant is over, here’s a pinkeep I’m working on using a freebie design by Anne.

Birds pinkeep

DMC on 28count Dusty Rose jobelan. Sorry for the grotty picture; it’s raining cats and dogs today!

Written by Jean

July 18, 2007 at 11:45 am

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your bird pincushion so far, these designs from Anne are so sweet!

    KarenV

    July 18, 2007 at 5:45 pm

  2. The child should have her eyes checked…

    Irene

    July 18, 2007 at 7:46 pm

  3. Thank you for the giggle! Indeed, that was rather silly for someone to try to get someone else to do her daughter’s homework – geesh!! Meanwhile, your Tournicoton design is just beautiful!!!! Wow!!

    Carol

    July 18, 2007 at 10:14 pm

  4. Wow, parents can be so overbearing sometimes. I love your current project!

    Lauren

    July 18, 2007 at 11:58 pm

  5. I had a giggle over this post! I can’t believe some mothers!

    Good on you for your response – I would have said the same!

    ausxser

    July 19, 2007 at 7:09 am

  6. Experienced the same recently, only that this girl who is 15 needs to crochet a doily – a standard design for the entire class.

    That’s gonna be a lovely pinkeep.

    Lillie

    July 19, 2007 at 12:31 pm

  7. Love the freebie! Beautiful!

    Michelle

    July 20, 2007 at 2:12 am

  8. People are amazing.

    Love your start on your pinkeep! What a cute freebie.

    Katrina

    July 20, 2007 at 8:54 am

  9. That is nervy… I always wonder what parents are thinking when they try to get their kids out of assigned tasks.

    Your pinkeep is looking lovely :)

    Monique

    July 24, 2007 at 11:50 am


Comments are closed.

