the slow stitcher

Silks and a beautiful biscornu.

Remember how I said before that I was afraid of trying silks? Well, I’ve bitten the bullet and started a small gift project with the Alyce Schroth silks I bought some months ago. Can I just say, these silks are gorgeous? They’re two-ply so you don’t have to be fussed with splitting them into strands or anything. Just cut off the length you want and go! Can you tell I’m lovin’ it? I’ll take pictures later; I’m actually making a bourse for a dear friend. Looking forward to giving it to her but not having to sew the thing by hand! Note to self: Buy sewing machine.

Also, a wonderful surprise was dropped off by the postman this afternoon. It was my biscornu exchange from Carissa! We had given it up for lost since the exchange ended quite some time back. Carissa had sent it by surface mail so it took two months to get here. But it’s totally worth the wait! Behold the bonanza:

Biscornu and goodies from Carissa.

And pictures of the beautiful, beautiful biscornu up close:

Biscornu and goodies from Carissa.

Biscornu and goodies from Carissa.

The back of the biscornu has my name and hers on it. Thank you so much, Carissa. You really made my day!

Written by Jean

June 14, 2007 at 2:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my! That is just so wonderfully gorgeous!

    What an inspiration (I have decided I will try to make my very first biscornu after finally moving house end of this week!).

    Esther

    June 14, 2007 at 5:36 pm

  2. The biscornu is so beautiful – it really is a treasure. I know you´ll love stitching with the silks.

    icelandmom

    June 14, 2007 at 6:32 pm

  3. Absolutely lovely biscornu! Am thinking of starting a bourse myself also for a dear friend, most likely I’ll go with a motif from Double Dutch! ;)

    Barbara J

    June 14, 2007 at 7:19 pm

  4. Love the biscornu and all those goodies! Aren’t silks just great :)

    Cheryl

    June 14, 2007 at 7:31 pm

  5. Oh, very, very beautiful! I am so glad the exchange finally worked out for you!!

    Carol

    June 14, 2007 at 10:27 pm

  6. Gorgeous! I am so glad your exchange finally showed up…it looks like it was well worth the wait. Glad you enjoying stitching with silks too – I love them!

    Michelle

    June 14, 2007 at 11:21 pm

  7. Beautiful biscornu you received and love the stash ;)

    Itching To Stitch

    June 15, 2007 at 12:19 am

  8. wow! stunning biscornu!

    Dawn

    June 15, 2007 at 12:48 am

  9. Wow! What a lovely package! Enjoy stitching with your silks!

    Lauren

    June 15, 2007 at 3:19 am

  10. Its a beauty – well worth the wait.

    susimac

    June 15, 2007 at 11:46 pm


Comments are closed.

