the slow stitcher

Byebye wagon.

I went downstairs to open the mailbox today and found not one, not two, but three stitchy packages. Joy!

“You’re such a doofus,” said I to myself as I opened the first one. It was from Vikki Clayton. I ordered – or thought I ordered – Victoria’s Quaker, but it turned out that I’d just ordered the silks for it and not the chart. Doh! I don’t know what to do now; I’ve emailed her to ask about ordering the chart, but I’ve never stitched with silk before and for some reason am hesitant to dip a toe in. All I need is the chart and I can start but…it’s silk. I have some silk in my stash somewhere but I’ve not worked up the gumption to use them. Clearly, I have a mental hurdle to overcome.

The Lord's Prayer and Houtman book
The next one was from Tannia! She sent me a Jan Houtman book containing the Indonesie sampler (and several other gorgeous ones too) and The Lord’s Prayer by My Big Toe. Thank you so much for a wonderful trade, Tannia!

The last package contained the “infamous” Sarah Moon’s Quaker Sampler by Needleprint. It’s now OOP so I thought I’d get my copy before it became truly impossible to find.

No stitching updates to share as I’ve been madly trying to clear my work before I can sit down and take needle in hand with a clear conscience. I have just one more article to write and then I can take a little break before the next round of work comes in. I haven’t touched any of my projects in a week!

Written by Jean

April 18, 2007 at 3:39 pm

Posted in Crafting

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You will LOVE stitching with silks Jean – start with something small, make sure you have no snags on your hands and use a new needle :)

    Silks are gorgeous :)

    ausxser

    April 18, 2007 at 4:33 pm

  2. I loooooove Vikki’s silks – they ‘re of the best quality and is as smooth as …. well silk.

    hehe
    Mona

    mona

    April 18, 2007 at 5:33 pm

  3. Ohh, silks are wonderful! I hope you’re able to get back to stitching soon!

    Lauren

    April 19, 2007 at 12:09 am

  4. Vikki’s silks are wonderful to stitch with. Warning – you may become addicted to them! Also I wanted to let you know that Coffee Menu is being done on Chai Tea by Whichelt – it’s Jobelyn.

    Jamie

    April 19, 2007 at 9:29 am

  5. Go on Jean, give silks a go. You’ll be hooked.

    dutchess

    April 20, 2007 at 12:32 am

  6. […] 14th, 2007 · No Comments Remember how I said before that I was afraid of trying silks? Well, I’ve bitten the bullet and started a small gift […]

  7. […] and a beautiful biscornu. Posted in Crafting, Uncategorized 06/14/07 Remember how I said before that I was afraid of trying silks? Well, I’ve bitten the bullet and started a small gift […]


Comments are closed.

