the slow stitcher

This week’s SBQ: fabric counts.

What is the smallest count fabric you have ever used? Did you stitch
over one? Conversely, what is the largest count fabric you have ever used?

I’m pretty boring I think. The largest (highest) count fabric I’ve used so far is 36 count Edinburgh over two. I’ve tried over one on 32 count for the BP Quaker Sampler but found that the alphabet became unreadable so I switched. I’ve seen some people do over one on 40 count; it’s amazing how they can see to stitch! When I eventually get around to stitching Houses of Hawk Run Hollow and the CHS alphabet, they’ll be on 40 count. Over two, of course. And then maybe I’ll get up the courage to try 55 count.

The smallest count I’ve used is 14 count Aida. I don’t like the look of it much though, so these days I use it only for small projects to thin out my stash of it.

Written by Jean

February 23, 2007 at 4:46 pm

Posted in Crafting

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not boring at all! The highest count I have ever stitched on is 32ct (over 2). Would love to do over 1 on a higher count but that will have me blind in a week… ;)

    knotsincotton

    February 24, 2007 at 4:48 am


Comments are closed.

