the slow stitcher

Over-one attempt.

Fiddly over one.

I’m halfway through the first motif in Beatrix Potter’s Quaker Sampler. 38 and a half more to go! This over-one stitching is easier than I thought, yet harder than I thought. Easier because I don’t have to count as I do over-two to make sure I don’t make a mistake; harder because the stitches are tiny.

This sampler is turning out to be quite a milestone in my stitching exploits. First time over-one, and first time stitching on linen! Linen’s turning out to be quite a different stitching experience from evenweave, which I’m used to. Methinks it’s the slubs. Oh yeah, this is also my first time stitching a Quaker sampler too. I’m enjoying it, and I can see my stitches becoming neater as I go along. It was pretty fiddly at first, but practice makes (almost) perfect. I must make sure I include a note in the back when I frame it to commemorate all of this.

Written by Jean

February 2, 2007 at 4:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow- a lot of firsts… and you’re doing great!

    Monique

    February 3, 2007 at 10:42 am


Comments are closed.

