the slow stitcher

This week’s SBQ.

What company produces your favorite hand-dyed fabric? Are there any
companies whose hand-dyed fabric you do not like? If so, why?

Thankfully or not, hand-dyed fabric is one area of cross-stitching I haven’t become addicted to…yet. So no favourite. Most of the designs I’m drawn to look just as nice on standard fabrics as they would on hand-dyeds, so I’ve not had much reason to experiment yet. But I like the fabrics from Silkweaver, Picture This Plus, Countrystitch and Stitches and Spice. I’ve also recently discovered the beauty of R&R Reproductions’ fabric, although they are a little high-maintenance as they’ve to be dry-cleaned.

As for not liking hand-dyeds, I do think Sugar Maple Fabrics are a bit gaudy. But it’s a matter of taste, of course. They do have some lovely colours.

Written by Jean

January 25, 2007 at 1:28 pm

Posted in Crafting

