the slow stitcher

Archive for January 11th, 2007

First 2007 SBQ.

Do you dream of running your own LNS/ONS? If so, tell us about your dream. If not, tell us about your cross stitch dream… maybe you dream of designing, dyeing your own floss or fabric, etc.

K and I were talking about retail the other day, when I said I would like to open a little crafter’s hangout where people with all sorts of craft hobbies could gather to work on their stuff while having coffee and light snacks. We could have craft highlight days where we’d give a free lesson on a certain aspect of a craft, and people could pay a nominal fee for a coffee and snack while attending it. Craft is catching on in a big way in Singapore so such a cafe could just work! There is already a scrapbook store with a similar concept and it’s doing pretty well as far as I can see.

Running a cafe would be a very consuming endeavour, though. I’m not sure I’m addicted enough to cross-stitch to actually pull it off. I used to have a little plus-size clothing business and it was difficult enough as it were. F&B is way harder. As for designing or creating my own fabric or floss, maybe someday yes. But for now I’m happy to stick to my dream of accumulating as much stash as I can!

Written by Jean

January 11, 2007 at 11:01 am

Posted in Crafting