the slow stitcher

Mail lovin’.

Opened the mailbox today to find a tonne of junk mail, the latest Vanity Fair, the Mr Men and Little Miss Alphabet Sampler and my second fabric order from Silkweaver comprising 18ct victorian red aida, 32ct lambswool jobelan and 32ct sage jobelan. Quite stoked about the arrival of the Mr Men sampler. I opened it with Alison, who of course wanted to sew it immediately and tried to take apart the floss from the floss cards. Managed to stop her just in time, before all the floss got messed up. The kit calls for Madeira floss. I’ve never used Madeira before and don’t know where to buy it so I hope it doesn’t run out. Or should I just convert it to DMC? Hmm.

After some faffing around I also managed to figure out the stitch count as the kit instructions only mention the finished size. Silly of the manufacturer, really. Had to look around for an online calculator that would tell me what the stitch count was, and then work out the evenweave required from there. Since I’m changing the fabric I’ll only be able to start this Saturday, which is when I go to Spotlight to kill time while waiting for K to finish his bass guitar lesson. So Karen, if you want to SAL this, I’m starting this weekend or early next week depending on my usually-crazy schedule.

Written by Jean

April 24, 2006 at 8:41 pm

Posted in Crafting

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. reading your posts on stitching makes me want to pick up needle and thread again. but i doubt i have the patience to sit through it. and erhmm, i somehow always manage to screw up my counts… grr.

    Ruth

    April 25, 2006 at 9:52 am

  2. I screw up my counts all the time too. The key is not to stitch while distracted, or sleepy. Sleepiness is my #1 counting-mistake cause.

    jean

    April 27, 2006 at 12:48 am

  3. Cannot la, I’m still stucked with Winnie’s RR. You’d finished yours??? Ay….you are tempting me, aren’t you?

    Karen

    April 27, 2006 at 7:26 pm


Comments are closed.

