the slow stitcher

My little stitcher.

Little stitcher.Alison has been bugging me for the longest time to let her “sew”, so I ordered two packs of DMC plastic needles online and bought some canvas for her to try her hand at being a stitcher. Unfortunately I neglected to check the count of the canvas I bought. It was 14ct; the holes were too small for the big plastic needle to go through. I ended up giving her a size 22 needle to stitch with.

I had to show her a few times that the needle has to go through the fabric instead of around it. Most of the time, she got it right. Of course one cannot expect a four-year old toddler to stitch up anything more than random ins-and-outs, but i think she’s done great for a first-timer. She even wanted to “follow” one of the patterns in my Strawberry Shortcake pattern book, insisting that I thread her some red floss after she finished with the green, per the pattern. I’m sure that she’ll find it easier to stitch once I get her the 11ct or smaller Aida or canvas to work with the plastic needle.

Written by Jean

April 20, 2006 at 9:12 am

Posted in Crafting

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. She’s so CUTE!!!!!!

    Rachel

    April 20, 2006 at 12:23 pm

  2. wow! your girl is really starting young….

    michelle

    April 20, 2006 at 2:33 pm

  3. mine that’s so cute. I got a set from Shop and Save outlet. They had plastic needles and very big holes for the kids to sitch. Even comes with a pattern like rubber ducky. Let me go dig up the pack I bought to take a picture.

    June

    April 20, 2006 at 9:49 pm

  4. Very nice!! I’ve been meaning to get my kid into this… Binca maybe? I am so not crafty unless it’s digital. Which shop is best for kids in Singapore?

    Razzberry

    April 22, 2006 at 12:01 pm

  5. Brings back a lot of memories for me because I started “stitching” at a young age too. Alison is very advanced, though, to be able to hold a needle and thread so well. I’m planning to make a similar sewing thing for S out of cardboard and yarn.

    Hsien Lei

    April 22, 2006 at 9:06 pm


Comments are closed.

