the slow stitcher

Too much S.E.X.

I have been tracking my expenses for the past couple of months and it occurs to me that I have been spending money mainly on Stash Enhancing Experiences (S.E.X.). I have recently acquired these charts:

Jan Houtman’s Patchwork Sampler
Snowmen on Parade
Tiny Little Teapots
A Prairie Schooler nursery rhymes leaflet
Traditional Samplers by Brenda Hayes
8 (count ’em, 8!) charts from Crossstitchpatterngall.com

It will take me a lifetime to stitch all of this, plus the other stuff that I have on hand.

I’m still working on my current round robin piece – which is a simple pattern of four apricots surrounded by a yellow border. After I send it off, I’m hoping to start one of the crossstitchptterngall charts – the one called Palace Princess. I’ve already put in an order for the fabric, just need to buy the floss for it and I’m off!

June and I were talking while we were browsing at Art Friend and Sagacity yesterday and wondering at the resurgence of interest in crafts. J said that it was probably because people were too stressed at work, and I said it’s sort of a return to the olden days where your self-worth was measured by your ability to make things with your hands. Even K has been bitten by the bug – he’s planning to teach himself to make foam latex puppets as he has a stop-motion series idea in mind and he needs to make the puppets to animate the show.

More craftiness ahead!

Written by Jean

November 8, 2005 at 11:00 am

Posted in Crafting

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. haven’t got crafty yet but i’ve been doodling a lot with crayons and colour pencils these days and drawing all sorts of flowers in my journal. me thinks i shall get water colour soon – just creating something however ugly is really therapeutic and relaxing.

    mel

    November 8, 2005 at 11:21 am


Comments are closed.

